Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Oh hi blog! And, an FO for UFOs

Posted by Amber on May 8, 2009

Hello my few and far between readers.  How have you been?  I’ve been tired.  Grad school kicked my ass this term, so I’ve been head down in books trying to pull it back together.  And when not doing statistics, I’m sleeping.

But! The semester wrapped on Wednesday, I got my grade today (B! Which seems lame to be excited about, but let me re-direct you to the ass kicking I got last semester, and the fact that I’m not curled up in a corner rocking back and forth is a real wonder)… What was I saying?  Right, so in honor of having a grade and not having to worry about school until August!! I decided to visit G Street Fabrics and take up a new hobby – sewing!

And in just one night I finished a project … to carry around my unfinished knitting projects.

I used this tutorial, which had a few issues (there are 4 triangles, not 5), but was overall very clear.  One thing, totally user error: When the pattern tells you to measure carefully for a professional look… measure carefully for a professional look:

My box isn’t so much a rectangular box so much as a trapezoidal lump.  But I love it!  And I can’t wait to get a rotary cutter and some bias tape to hide the edges and thread that matches my fabric and a fabric marker and one of those plastic quilter measuring things that makes it easier to fold a straight edge and maybe a little seam presser so I don’t have to keep running to my iron to make things flat.

Love!

2 Responses to “Oh hi blog! And, an FO for UFOs”

  1. Cookie said

    There you are!

    I’m fine, thanks for asking. Spring is here and I’m hiding from the lawn.

    Congrats on the B!

    Your bag is adorable and don’t worry, the first always looks a bit different. That’s totally normal.

  2. Kate said

    Careful sewing is just another excuse for accumulating stash. I think you may be on the path already… Congrats on the B.

Leave a comment