Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Planz: I haz them!

Posted by Amber on December 11, 2008

I know, you’d never guess I have a list of things I want to make if you say, looked at my ravelry queue.  But let me tell you about my plans!

Right now I’m working on a bottom up seamless raglan, ala Elizabeth Zimmerman:

It’s Shelridge Farm W4, in “Pink Lemonade.”  I loved this color a few years ago when I bought it, but now I’m finding it a little …pink.  I’ve started knitting a sweater with this very yarn twice before, and frogged twice before, so this time I’m thinking of overdying.  If I don’t have enough to make a few swatches with when I’m done (I’m concerned about running out, more on that later) I might buy one more ball in a different dye lot, and then do some experimentation with Kool Aid/food coloring … maybe even “real” dyes.  We’ll see.  Or maybe the …pink will grow on me.

As soon as that’s on the drying rack I have this:

Black Water Abbey Yarns‘ 2-ply worsted.  I’m going to make a Mariah, but top down, and with pockets (possibly pockets with zippers to replicate my favorite (but now dead) fleece from Eddie Bauer.  I loved being able to zip my pockets shut and not worry about my keys falling out.)  Need to chart that one.

Aurora 8 in gray, raspberry and white.  I need to wash the gray to get the kinks out, and also test to see if the red bleeds.  Then I’m going to make a top down raglan ala Marnie McClean’s Sam I Am cardigan (I’m thinking of doing corrugated ribbing though…I wonder if corrugated ribbing is hard to do flat).  Since I got the yarn at Stitch DC I think this will mostly be  an “at work” project.  I’m also going to experiment with increasing the sleeves at a different rate from the body.  I always wind up with more sleeve stitches than I need.

Maple Creek Farm Boucle and Yarn Love Charlotte Bronte (aran) to make a Cathode.  I’ve begun to worry the Boucle is too thin, so I might try and find a hank of their sock yarn in the same colorway (Pebbles).  I might then switch the contrast yarn over to something less overwhelming, like black.

(Also on my shelf, some pretty gray-silver yarn to make a raglan with some cables; some browny-gray yarn to make a Tangled Yoke; some purple tweed for a cabled vest; some blue tweed for something ala Kim Hargreaves’ Salina [ravlink]…)

…I think I may need to be taking some time off work to finish these before classes start up again (Jan 20th).

Leave a Reply

 
