Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Just a few more days

Posted by Amber on November 30, 2008

Stats final: Two take home components, due Dec 2 and December 9.  In classcomponent: December 9.

However, that isn’t to say I’m not knitting as a coping mechanism, even though I know I shouldn’t be.  Since Thanksgiving:

My own design.  I’m refering to it as Elizabeth Zimmermann’s EPS, Cosmic Pluto’s Lucy in the Sky, Ann Budd’s Diagonal Cross Rib Socks, and even a little bit of Kim Hargrave’s Jolie getting together for a drunken one nigh stand.  Really, it’s EPS + stitch pattern from Barbara Walker Treasury.  As usual, I’m worried about running out of yarn, but I have a plan for the sleeves.  Which will probably show up December 10.  When I’m up all nigh knitting after the final…

Oh, and Thanksgiving!  Let me tell you about Thanksgiving!

Sadly, my cranberries did not set this year.  Granny Smith apples provide natural pectin to make them jelly-ish.  Just not enough this year.  Rebecca made whipped cream from cream!  I’d never seen that before.  The few times I’ve tried, either nothing or I start getting bits of butter.  We also made apple pie from Alton Brown’s new baking book, with crust from scratch!  We also mashed potatoes (baby red).  We made cornbread from scratch in order to make cornbread and sausage stuffing, along with apple cider gravy.  Broth – you guessed it – from scratch!  We boiled chicken bits, onions, bay leaves, carrots, celery for … a really long time.  And boom! Tastey broth!  A tiny little turkey meatloaf (as Rebecca pointed out when I was being concerned it was too small, “It’s a half a pound of meat for each of us!”).  Not photoed: sauted grape tomatoes.  We also had grand intentions of making beet latke-type things, a roasted acorn squash with cinnamon butter, but sort of ran out of steam at abotu 8:30 pm.  We were eating the pie at 11.

One Response to “Just a few more days”

  1. Nicole said

    I love turkey meatloaf! I’ll have to try it one year. My sister can whip cream too, I’m fascinated by it.

Leave a Reply

 
