Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Knitting is Mathtastic!

Posted by Amber on July 13, 2008

I started this scarf in 2006, way before the liberated laceweight campaign began.  I thought a simple K1, YO, K2tog over 39 stitches would be a simple way to use up my one ball of Shimmer.  However, I was holding it doubled, and by the time I finished the ball it was only about 3 feet long.  Not nearly enough.  So I ordered a second ball, worked on it a bit, and put it away … March 2007.  I think I lost interest because I found that alpaca makes me want to claw my skin off.

Last week I decided to pull it out and finish it.  No real reason.  Found it while looking for some sock yarn, and figured why not?

So let’s get to the mathtastic part!

As of yesterday (Saturday) morning, I’d knit 42″ of scarf; and used ~70 grams of yarn (of 100 g, total). Which means I’m getting 0.6 inches of scarf per gram of yarn.

I plan to hold about 5 grams of yarn to make some fringe.

So I really had 25 grams of yarn to go.

Which should give me about 15 more inches of scarf.

For a scarf with relaxed length of 4.75 feet (57 inches).  I think it will block significantly longer, however.

By the end of the day today (I’m too bored to go on!)  I’m down to 17 grams (12 more grams to knit).

(The split ring is where I started this afternoon.  I keep moving it up so I can see progress.  3″ Friday night; 5″ Saturday morning; 4.5″ Sunday.)

4 Responses to “Knitting is Mathtastic!”

  1. bethc said

    You could always save more for fringe :)

  2. Amber said

    How are you knitting this?? Aren’t you dying from allergies? Is your mother not allergic to Alpaca – as I am sure you won’t be wearing this. Pretty colors though! And I second Beth’s idea of some fringe. :)

  3. laura said

    that makes mah head hurt!

  4. […] by Amber on May 23, 2009 About (gulp!) 10 months ago I last picked up this horrible, horrible scarf I’ve been working on for ages.  K1, YO, K2tog.  Until you want to die.  But 10 months ago […]

Leave a Reply

 
