Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

A meme? Ohh, pick me!

Posted by Amber on June 29, 2008

I saw this on Leigh’s blog, and decided I didn’t care if I wasn’t tagged — I was doing it anyway.  I think I’m too tired to come up with fresh content.

Here’s the 50 most used yarns from Ravelry (April 7, at least).  Bold is a yarn you’ve used and would use again; italics are yarns you’d like to try; and strike yarns you’ve tried, but wouldn’t use again.

1, Cascade 220 Wool – Nothing personal, just didn’t really float my boat.
2, Patons Classic Wool Merino – Again, not a boat floater
3, Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted – Never tried, but I typically prefer plied yarns for durability
4, Noro Kureyon – strikingly enough, I don’t think I’ve ever tried Kureyon (although I’ve used other Noro yarns)
5, Caron Simply Soft – Got past that phase!
6, Lily Sugar’n Cream Solid –  Made some dishcloths, no desire to make anymore.
7, Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted – I swatched (I got two balls as part of a swap where the person had felt she wasn’t sending me enough — anyone want a ball and three-quarters of bright red?) – single ply and mohair aren’t for me
8, Red Heart Ltd. Super Saver Solids – Haven’t used but don’t intend to!
9, Lion Brand Wool-Ease Solid – I’ve used the bulky (see below) and no intent to use the regular!
10, Noro Silk Garden – I know I’ve been complaining about single ply yarns – but I do love some silk garden for a hat!
11, Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM) A favorite!
12, Knit Picks Wool of the Andes – I’ve swatched, but haven’t made a project.  I just feel like there are better yarns where I don’t have to join every 50 grams!
13, Lion Brand Homespun I got so frustrated I ended up throwing it across the room at one point.  About a week later I pulled the needles out and dumped the tangled mess in the trash
14, Lion Brand Cotton-Ease – I’ve used for two projects and I have more in my stash.  Not a big fan of most of the new colors (every now and then I want a bright color!)
15, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi – Another sock favorite!
16, Manos del Uruguay 100% Wool – Eh.  I know a lot of people rave, but thick n’ thin single ply just isn’t my game.
17, Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky – Since I didn’t like the regular, I doubt I’d like the bulky.
18, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran – I feel like I have used this — but can’t think of what or where or when.  I know we had it at the store for a long time, and the yardage was small in my opinion – there are other yarns with better yardage, so why bother?
19, Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Lightweight – I just bought some more off Jessica yesterday!
20, Plymouth Encore Worsted  – I’ve swatched, wouldn’t run out to buy more.
21, Cascade 220 Heathers – Haven’t tried, but I’m so indifferent to Cascade.
22, Lily Sugar’n Cream Ombres & Prints – Again, I’ve made my share of dishcloths.
23, Zitron Trekking (XXL) – It feels a little rough in the ball to me – although I hear it is extra durable.  Maybe if one lands in my lap some day…
24, Patons SWS (Soy Wool Stripes) –  Never tried, but I hear it’s best for felting projects, and I don’t really care to felt.
25, Rowan Kidsilk Haze – I’ve knit and ripped a few times, that counts right?  I just need to get the right project at the right time (when I have the mental energy to stay focused on mohair)
26, Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino – LIke the aran – I feel like I’ve used this, but can’t place where.
27, Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Ombres
28, Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece – would like to try, but don’t quite know for what yet.
29, Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Mediumweight – Not sure I’d use it for socks again, but maybe.  Or for mittens!
30, Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick – Haaaaaaated this one.
31, Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Solids
32, Cascade 220 Superwash – Haven’t tried, but indifferent about trying it.  Shelridge is my go-to 200 yard/ball superwash yarn!
33, Berroco Ultra Alpaca – I can’t wear alpaca, so I doubt I’ll ever try this one.
34, Knit Picks Swish Superwash – Like cascade – I have a go to superwash; and again, I have better things to do than join a new ball ever 50 g.
35, Knit Picks Essential – No big desire to try — I have a handful of other go-to sock yarns.
36, Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice Solid
37, Colinette Jitterbug – I wouldn’t turn it down if some fell in my lap (in the name of trying new yarns), but I’ve heard enough mixed reviews I probably wouldn’t buy it myself.
38, Lion Brand Lion Wool Solid
39, Knit Picks Shine Sport – I’m vaguely curious, but with cotton-ease and some of the valley yarns blends, I’m not sure I’ll get around to trying this one.
40, Dale of Norway/Dalegarn Baby Ull – I really want to remember to get some to try on mittens.
41, Lion Brand Microspun – Never again!
42, Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino – Have some stashed, just need to get to it.
43, Knit Picks Palette – Also stashed, for mittens.
44, South West Trading Company TOFUtsies – Again, stashed.
45, Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool – there’s a ton of vegetable matter, which I think is weird, because this is such a processed yarn.  But I like it anyway.
46, Mission Falls 1824 Wool – I’m halfway through a project that I’m going to frog — but I am going to do something else with the yarn, rather than swap it away.  That counts?
47, Rowan RYC Cashsoft DK – I made a hat.  I don’t know that I’d buy rowan specifically, but I wouldn’t turn it away either.
48, Red Heart Ltd. Super Saver Multis/Ombres
49, Rowan Felted Tweed – Stupid alpaca.
50, Rowan Calmer – I’d make a hat if one fell in lap, but I’m not sure I’d seek any out to buy it.
So, I’ve used 22 (44%) of them.  And I’d use 10 (20%) again.  But that’s sort of typical for me – I like to try new things, although I have a small handful of favorites (Shelridge, Koigu, Lorna’s, STR).  Although there’s only 7 (14%) on this list I want to try — But I guess I am a bit of a yarn snob (like that’s news to anyone)  and 15 (30%) of these are “craft store” yarns — and since I work in an LYS I don’t often find myself wanting a craft store yarn, since post discount, most of our yarns are cheaper than the craft store yarn (and better quality).

Leave a Reply

 
