Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

FO: Labyrinth

Posted by Amber on June 16, 2008

Pattern: Labyrinth, by Wendy Bernard via Stitch Diva

Yarn: Be Sweet Bamboo (7 balls, with tons left over) for the main body.  Tilli Tomas Beaded Lace in “Equity” (Stitch DC exclusive) for the trim.  I held the Tilli Tomas double; haven’t weighed the remaining balls to see how much is left.  The bamboo was splitty – I had to pay lots of attention to it to make sure I caught all the strands – and it made my hands hurt, but I loved it anyway.  Everyone who sees it asks if it’s silk.  And the subtle handdyed nature of the Be Sweet really comes out in the finished fabric.  It looks solid in the ball, and it doesn’t look variegated or anything.  It’s just a nice subtle reminder that the yarn was dyed by a person, and not a machine.

Mods:

  • Changed gauge from 5 stitches per inch to 5.5 spi.
  • Since it’s top down raglan construction, I increased the size to 38″ – about -2″ of ease.  As written, I could have had either exactly 40″ or 36″.  I thought -4″ would be too tight; but 0 would be too loose.
  • Used M1 increases instead of KFB on the raglan.
  • I didn’t do any ballooning on the sleeves.  From the pictures with the pattern, I thought only the long sleeve version had ballooning.  It worked out perfectly – I had 77 stitches around — perfect for the 11 stitch ripple repeat).
  • Moved the shaping to the side “seam” (it’s seamless, so not really a seam, but you get what I mean, right?) instead of having it under the bust.

Suggested Mods: The only thing I would have done differently would be the ripple stitch:  I followed the pattern exactly:

But instead of doing two KF&B twice; I think (although I haven’t test knit this yet to see if it’s the right sub) it would work better and look nicer to sub: K2tog, K3, M1L, K1, M1R, K3, SSK.  More symmetric and a little cleaner.  (But then, I always prefer M1L/M1R to KF&B.

I also made it a touch shorter than I usually knit my sweaters – only 14″ from the underarm to hem.  I think this might be the first time I’m hoping it stretches a bit under it’s own weight!  But it’s still fine — I always wear camisoles under my handknits.

In all – I’m a big fan of this sweater.  It’s been a while since I managed to knit a sweater I like (aka, that I haven’t screwed up and needed to rip back) – so I’m thrilled to get to wear this one out.

4 Responses to “FO: Labyrinth”

  1. judy said

    How exciting! It looks good!

  2. Nicole said

    It looks wonderful on you! I hadn’t considered knitting this top before but I am now!

  3. Abby said

    You rock.

    Also, kudos to whomever took the photos, because the first one is definitely Knitty-quality.

  4. knitfriendly said

    Great job! :)

Leave a Reply

 
