Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

While in Texas: Knit Purple Socks

Posted by Amber on June 9, 2008

A long, long overdue FO post:

Pattern: Anniversary Socks by Nancy Bush; from Favorite Socks

Yarn: Koigu KPM #3005; picked up at Stitches East 2007, Rosie’s Yarn Cellar’s Booth

Needles: US 1, Magic Loop

Mods: Decreased the entire sock to 60 stitches by removing some stitches from the stockinette panel. To keep the patterned portion on one needle, and the back & sole (plain) stitches on another I had something like 34 stitches on one side and 26 on the other side. But it worked out in the end!

Comments: Because there’s no patterning on the back of the leg, these are VERY quick to knit. Each sock took me about 2 days to knit (on a business trip to Texas). Now, those were typically a travel day and then a second day (where I got to knit in the airport; on the plane, and then while sitting around the hotel while waiting for coworkers to get ready for dinner — yay for business trips!) I did 5 repeats of the pattern on the leg, rather than I think the 7 or so the pattern suggested. I might have been able to get one more repeat from the ball.

I was a little surprised that there was no chart in the book – all written instructions. So I made my own little chart on a post it note (so could stick it on the seat back in front of me). Turns out – I didn’t need my chart, the pattern was super easy to memorize. And considering I couldn’t memorize the chart to my River Rapids socks, that says a lot.

Incidentally, the first photo is more color-accurate. Don’t you hate it when you just can’t get a color? I took like 10 pictures of a ball of green yarn, and spent an hour messing with the colors in Picnik and I STILL wasn’t happy.

The title of this post? On a different business trip to Texas, I knit some other purple Koigu socks that it seems never made it into a blog post:

Go With the Flow (by Evelyn Clark; also from Favorite Socks), also knit with Koigu (NR/No Repeat colorway), also from Rosie’s via Stitches (2006!). These were knit toe-up (thus being Go Against the Flow in my Ravelry notebook)

2 Responses to “While in Texas: Knit Purple Socks”

  1. Amber said

    At first, I thought the two pics were the same socks and I thouht – wow she is right, the color is really off! Thanks for the link to picnic – I have not heard of that before. I am going to go and check it out. :)

  2. Abby said

    Not only pics of two great pairs of purple socks, but you in a skirt!

Leave a Reply

 
