Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Gee, has it been a while?

Posted by Amber on November 26, 2007

While I haven’t been blogging, I have been knitting.  Some sort of anti Blog-Post-Month thing, I suppose.

I started Sweetpea (while still in NYC…):

Claudia Handpaint (Pink Posey).  I tried out the Magic Cast on – I really like it. Much more than the Figure 8 cast on or the short row toe.  And it just goes so much faster.

Then I started some Retro Rib Socks:

with Black Bunny Fibers (I got mine from Rosie’s Yarn Cellar @ Stitches this year; you can get yours from Black bunny @ Etsy ).  I’m going toe up in order to get the most from the ball – it reaches just below my knee! I’m using size 1 needles, and it’s very soft and plump.  Reminds me a lot of koigu – both the texture and color.

I also tried out the magic loop method with these socks – I’m totally hooked!   I tried it a while back with my Wicked sleeves, and it was so handy, just needing the one needle.  I haven’t been starting many sock because my needles were all tied up.  But now, much smaller investment in new materials.

I also started my first pair of plain old stockinette socks:

SpinningYarnsOnline.com fingering weight (neopolitan) – also available at Stitch DC (G’town!).  Good yardage (540 yards), but it feels a little off in my hand.  It feels sort of like it has nylon in it, which is odd, because it’s 100% merino.  Lorna’s Laces (with 20% nylon) feels more like 100% wool.  I’ll hold off on total judgment until I wash it – maybe it will nicely plump & soften up.

Thanksgiving at Chez Yarny was lovely, although nothing particularly photogenic.  For breakfast, I made Giada De Laurentiis’ Berry Strata.  Then, for dinner I made Barefoot Contessa’s (Ina Garten) Turkey Meatloaf (sans onions), and Barefoot Contessa Cranberry Fruit Conserve (a granny smith apple provides natural pectin to turn it into jelly! – and this year it actually set.  Two years ago it didn’t set, and we had pink, chunky gravy, last year I skipped the cranberries), along with your basic steamed broccoli, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and pumpkin pie.  So instead of food photos, I bring you photos from the park in my backyard (early Thanksgiving morning, all the muggers, murderers and rapists were still sleeping):

Leave a Reply

 
