Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Interweave Winter 2007

Posted by Amber on November 4, 2007

Hey look, Jennifer Garner became a model for Interweave!

I love the sleeve cap article – now I want to make something with set in sleeves, even though I prefer the seamless raglan/yoke/etc.

Refined Aran – I don’t like the pockets (I don’t like patch pockets on sweaters as a general rule – although I like angled pockets and kangaroo pouch pockets). I do really, really like the way the cable goes up the saddle on the sleeve, and the way the collar flips over. the cables down the front sort of bother me, I’m not sure if they were set wider or narrower (outside the bust, or in toward the button band) if they’d bother me less. Something to ponder.

Bonbon Pullover – Oh, I hate that neck. Scoop neck all the way. Other things I’m not fond of – the textured effect of the slip stitch colorwork. Not my personal taste (although I know at least one person who can’t do regular stranded work, and can only do slip-stitch work, so I’m sure she enjoys a pattern she doesn’t have to modify.

Brushed Lace Cardigan – A little reminiscent of a ripple afghan. I think I’m going to hold off judgment until I see it in other colors.

Selva Skirt – WTF? It looks moderately okay with the jacket on, but without, that top is just begging to highlight pudge. Clearly, it is only for the people who really, really *heart* their booty.

Henley Perfected – Perfected isn’t the word I would have used. Henley Revisited. Henley Updated. But it just doesn’t seem perfected to me. I like the turned hem at the bottom and the neckline. I think if the edge of the neck (where it currently doesn’t meet the button band) had a cute little mitered corner, and the button band were done as a turned hem as well (so it didn’t roll), then I’d totally call it Perfected. Not that I know how to do a button hole on a turned hem, mind you, but I want to figure it out, so I can have my own perfected sweater.

Sweater Girl Pullover – I like cables, but this strikes me as one of the sweaters I’d rather just buy. Plus, you can’t see any of the details the magazine mentions (like more frequent cable crosses making a tighter fit, or cables going up the body for a fashionable look). I know the sweater inspires you to think of an academic in the library, but couldn’t they have gone for “happy, preppy undergraduate hanging in the quad” or something where there’d be light?

Forest Forbes Pullover – So usually, I really want to knit Kathy Zimmerman’s designs because they look so wonderfully complex and interesting. This sweater makes me think the yarn has some sort of skin problem, with little boils. (And now you can’t unsee it!)

Bubble Cable Dolman – Does anyone actually wear dolmans anymore? They’re just so … batwing-y.

Colette Pullover – i know it has little kitty faces all over it. I like it anyway. Inexplicable, I know, but I like it. I’m also sure I could find a 7 st x 8 row repeating motif to sub in if I didn’t want to have a kitty sweater.

Puffed Wheat Pullover – So, I’d change the neckline (scoop or V), add the puff wheat to the sleeve, and make the sweater a cardigan, and love it a lot.

Citrus Yoke Pullover – I like the rolled edge, and the fact that I wouldn’t have to lengthen the torso (I’m 5’8″, and I like my sweaters to be about 15″ from armpit to edge. Do I have a freakishly long torso??) The gauge is ridiculously huge (3.4 st/inch), and the mock turtle neck looks terribly uncomfortable.

Celtic Tote – Cute, although I don’t use felted purses, so meh. But I like the idea of using embroidery to highlight a cable. And I like the way the cable decreases – much like the ones in Rogue – and I’m going to keep it in mind for possible future use.

Tilting Cable Socks – I can’t wait for someone else to knit these in a solid (really solid, not BMFA’s “shaded solids” that aren’t really so solid) so I can see what all the cables are doing.

Ivy League Vest – Another one that I look forward to seeing in Ravelry/Blogosphere done in half as many colors (I had mixed feelings about Venzia until I saw it in two colors – this is another one I think I’d enjoy in 2-4 colors, but not 6).

Subway Mittens – I kind of liked it when the pattern was available for a fee, and the money went to a charity.

Kilm GlovesThat’s a lot of colors. A lot.

Logan River Wrap – I like this. Not sure if I’m up to endurance scarf knitting, but I think I’d like this in a much, much thinner yarn as a scarf. Something blue. And with silk.

El Sol Pullover – It’s nice enough, but doesn’t strike my fancy. Probably because I have a tunic-y top all planned out in my head, and I like the vision in my head best (which is why I thought it up). This one has too much seed stitch for my anti seed stitch stance. It also looks like it’s about to fall off Not!Jen Garner’s shoulders.

Farrow Rib Cardigan – Another one I can’t explain, but with longer sleeves, a longer torso, and more buttons (smaller buttons, too, along with a smaller button band) I could totally see myself making this cardigan.

Ruched Shell – How does this thing make Not!Jen Garner look so pregnant? Weird. I don’t trust things that make the very thin models look pregnant.

Gathered Pullover – I didn’t at first, but now I sort of like this one. I can’t quite figure out why there’s a big line going over the middle of the model’s bust (her left side), but when (if) I figure it out, I’ll try to make sure mine doesn’t do that. I also wouldn’t knit this at such a loose gauge (loose gauges always seem to pill faster), so I’d probably find a silk or bamboo blend yarn to give it that fluidness.

Rosemary’s Swing Jacket – See, that “jacket” only has 3/4 length sleeves. The last time I could wear a “jacket” with such short sleeves, I was living in a place with an average winter low in the 40s. And even then, I only wore it when the temperature was in the 50s. This just isn’t very useful for me now. That and swing coats are another one of those things that I think would inspire people to ask me when I’m due. (Due to punch you in the nose, I say!)

Special Holiday Issue!

Last year I didn’t buy the holiday special issue because everything I wanted to make had been previously published in an issue I already owned. Not the case this year! All new patterns! Go IK!

Needle Felted Messenger Bag – I know, I just said I don’t like knit/felted bags. But this, oh, I like this. But I think I might like it more as like, a canvas messenger bag, with a branch stenciled on (rather than knit and felted). I know, that doesn’t really count as wanting to make this pattern, but I appreciate the inspiration.

Koolhaas Hat – Much love! I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to use some old Shelridge that I have sitting around, or my Oceanwinds merin, or buy something totally new, but I know I have to have this hat soon!

Qiviuk Webs Scarf – I’m not making the matching tam, and I doubt I’ll use qiviuk, but I really like the details on the end of that scarf. I bet I could get a narrow scarf out of one ball of Karabella Supermerino Fine.

Huckleberry Ascot – How did they manage to put TWO scarves I would like to make in a single issue?! I usually don’t even like ascots (I like the scarf hanging down under my coat to stop any chills slipping between the buttons), but I usually hate garter stitch and bobbles, but I’m inexplicably drawn to this.

2 Responses to “Interweave Winter 2007”

  1. judy said

    I must check my mailbox for the winter issue.

  2. I hope my copy comes in the mail soon!!!
    The holiday issue sounds like it is worth checking out too!

Leave a Reply

 
