Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

(FO) Ribbi Cardi: The Intarsia-ning

Posted by Amber on October 30, 2007

Pattern: Ribby Cardi by Bonne Marie Burns

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton Ease: Lavender (2 balls); White (1 ball); Black (4 balls). I really wanted to use up all of my old cotton ease (original colors).  I learned to knit with that lavender!  It was like, the first yarn I bought when learning to knit (I knit 10 rows of knitting, 10 rows of purling, 10 rows of stockinette; 10 rows of 1×1 ribbing; 10 rows of 2×2 ribbing, bound off and then cast on for a sweater).  Anyway.  It was clear I wasn’t going to have enough lavender, so I added the stripes at the elbows.  I meant for it to be higher on the arm, and probably would have made that middle part a little thicker (three rows black, two lavender, three black, probably).

Mods: Seamless!  I did the sleeves in the round, then when I joined the body I did it with intarsia.  Only one little problem area (I won’t point it out to you.  I think it’s pretty obvious, though.  Consider it a find Waldo puzzle).  Overall I enjoyed doing it this way, although it was like wrangling an octopus (ball of black; ball of lavender; ball of black; ball of lavender; ball of black).  It was my first intarsia.  I’m not sure I like intarsia enough to make a design in a shirt or something, but I like it for raglan cardigan sleeves.  I made the sleeves a touch longer than I wanted – but I’d still rather they be too long than too short.  Keeps my wrists warm.

As always:

Two thumbs up for Ribbi!

Leave a Reply

 
