Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

New Knitty! Yay!

Posted by Amber on September 16, 2007

This was a pretty fun issue!

Muir – Pretty. Not totally feeling any desire to make it, but pretty.

Henry – LOVE! This might just break the knit scarf moratorium here at Chez Yarny. But I might also be suffering from herringbone hangover.

Entwined – Eh. A nice idea, but do give me a call when you get to an actual cold climate and find out how impractical the idea is. Also, I’d be just uncoordinated enough to strangle myself.

Tussie Mussie – Again, I like the idea, but I’m just not a fan of reverse stockinette. Maybe if it were in part of a cutaway, like the sleeves on Rogue. I don’t really understand why the buttons run from the collar to just below the bust – maybe that’s a personal body type thing though, since I feel stuff that flares out that way makes me look pregnant, and so I always button things the opposite way – bottom to just below the bust.

PPR – Let me just say, I’m not such a fan of the patch pocket on handknit sweaters. Kangeroo pouch I can get behind, but otherwise, meh. (Do you recall those horrible pocks on the Coral sweater a few interweaves back?) I think it would be extra cute with just little intarsia stripes, rather than full on pocket, and without the garter to offset the wee stripes. [An aside: Someone postulated that the reason that there’s never any men’s patterns in things like Knitty is because there’s really only 4 sweaters that men wear and it’s all a variation on one of the four, and you don’t really need patterns to make the variations.]

Roam – Wow, that’s a lot of seed stitch. I mean, I know I once swatched for a sweater that called for trinity stitch, but I didn’t actually make the sweater. I like the darts though. Those are pretty. Also, if it’s cold enough for boots, it’s cold enough to put away the capris. (A lot of people are noting that the yarn averages $35/ball, and so this sweater will run you $175-$350, plus tax. I have feelings that I can’t really put into words about this; and how so what – it’s a lovely sweater and it’s made with kelp! How awesome is kelp? And honestly – anyone who has knit more than one project knows knitting is not a way to get stuff and save money. So, so what if it’s a $200 sweater? Bitch about the miles of seed stitch! That’s the obnoxious part!)

Cherie Amour – Not a fan of the air conditioned sleeves. (I crack myself up) It reminds me of a lot of things in the Twinkle Big City Knits. Probably because it comes out at 2.5 st/inch after blocking. Hey! Now I can recommend something to make with Twinkle besides a scarf or the entire Twinkle Book. Yay! (Maybe, twinkle is a little heavier. Hmmmm. Maybe I’ll ask Olga if she has left overs and if I can make a swatch…)

Neiman – Love! Love! Love! Sooooo going in the queue. (Someone online thinks it’s the style that only looks good on waifs – Huh? It’s awesome and simple and I think I want to make it in brown and pink.) I’m not sure if I want to order a bag of wool cotton, or maybe try something else. I {sort of} snagged a ball of Fiesta La Luz. I’m not going to do the entire facing in in silk, just the yoke.  (This issue was fond of the Rowan Wool Cotton.  Interesting.)

Mr. Greenjeans – I like it, which is to be expected, seeing as I basically finished it last week.

Boxed – I know handspinning is rough. But did you run out of yarn? You couldn’t go back and spin one more bobbin and make it a reasonable length? You couldn’t have added some shaping to reduce the extra on the sides so that you could make it longer? (Funniest comment so far, someone quoted the line “I wanted to spin enough to knit a sweater.” And the commentor responds “But sweetie, you didn’t.”) I do like the idea and the two part series on how it isn’t so bad or so impossibly hard to spin enough to make a sweater. Someday, I’ll do that too!

Percey – That’s a cute interior. Still though, no desire to knit a purse.

Flower Power – (Hey, this is a really kid-light issue!). Cute.

Foliage – Love! Totally looking for something red or yellow or orange ot make this with.

Pecan Pie – I’d like this as a beanie I think. Someone online suggested it would make a nice pillow, and I think she’s totally right.

Urchin – Ehhhhh. There’s some handspun that just shouldn’t be. But an excellent use for that one off ball of it that you can’t not buy.

Totally Autumn – I don’t really care about knitting blankets, but that’s very lovely.

Q – I like the design, but knowing how firm my stranded work turns out makes me nervous about applying it to socks.

Diamond Waffle – Nice. Understated. (Relatively speaking, this is a good issue for the men!) They look a little thick, but double checking the gauge (8.5spi) they really aren’t. I guess you don’t see many socks on mens feet, and and so they look big compared to how we usually see women’s feet.

Cinderella – Paton’s Classic for socks? At 5 spi? So basically, you make them and then felt them the first time you wear them? Not my thing, but a nice use of the stitch pattern.

Back to Basics – I know this makes me sound inflexible – but I like the way I make socks. I don’t have to think too hard, and sometimes that’s really nice. I don’t want to have to think about a sock.

Woodins – Cute – I mean, I don’t have any pressing desire to knit toys, but if that floats your boat.

One Response to “New Knitty! Yay!”

  1. judy said

    I was waiting for this! I also like some of the items here. I like the Cherie Amour but I’m not sure about the varigated colorway. Keeping an eye on the Ravelry forums to see what people do. I also like Tussie Mussie and that’s yet another use of the 13 balls of Rowan Wool/Cotton I’ve got. Blankets, eh. If I wouldn’t make myself a blanket, I’m certainly not going to make anyone else blankets either. And the rest, not bad.

Leave a Reply

 
