Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

IPG: Thelonious

Posted by Amber on August 31, 2007

Flashback to my days working in student services, and having to process the IPG (in progress) cards for people who didn’t finish their projects and needed an extra semester.

Lorna’s Laces, Shepherd Sock, Sherbert.  Addi Turbo; Size 0 (2 mm)

I did the first five rows (the part below the yellow line -which iss actually green-) in about two hours last Sunday.  The chart that comes with the pattern is crazy.  It’s labeled 1-3, 4, 5-7, 8… and so on.  Then there’s a section that’s marked out with X’s, and you have to refer to a different chart to do that section.  I wondered why there were so few Theloniouses in Ravelry!  Now I know.  So what I did was rechart the whole thing for my size:

I set up a sheet of knitting graph paper in excel.  Read all about that.

I charted everything on an individual line (1, 2, 3, and so on) leaving X for the lace panel.

I went back through and changed the Xs to the appropriate symbol for the lace panel.

I resized it to fit to one page.

I made sure to click “print gridlines” when printing (on the print setup tab).

And in about 2 hours yesterday, I knit 18 rows.

The chart took me a while to set up (probably 2 or 3 hours) but was so worth it!

One Response to “IPG: Thelonious”

  1. Amber said

    Wow – that’s about the same amount of time I spent on recharting Lilith. I love the color of your yarn. :)

Leave a Reply

 
