Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Ravelry

Posted by Amber on June 22, 2007

So I got my Ravelry.com invite this morning.

Color me unimpressed.  It’s basically because I don’t use Flickr (and I don’t want to use Flickr, and you can’t make me use Flickr!), and without Flickr, you can’t upload pictures of your own projects and you can’t add a new yarn pictures (I’m aparently the first person on Ravelry to use Claudia Handpaint! I must find these other Claudia users.).  So the queue is the only fun thing to look at, because I can see other people’s pictures. 

Don’t get me wrong – I respect all the effort that went into the design and the coding, but the default views seem to be the “picture” pages, rather than the list view, and it just looks broken compared to other people

I’d probably be equally unimpressed if they were billing themselves as the greatest blog aggregator ever, but then only let you import blogs from Typepad.  Oh well.  Looks like the blog sidebars and an excel file will continue to be my main organization methods, at least until it’s out of beta.  A shame, after all the hype, too.  I was really looking forward to it.  And it’s still very fun to play with (my compulsive desire to make lists is very satisified), I just really like pictures.

4 Responses to “Ravelry”

  1. Casey said

    Hey there,

    Flickr is currently the only option for adding photos, but there will be several options (including importing images from your blog or other image host) when we open.

    I guess we’ll see you after the beta! (PS – look around a bit, it’s not just for organizing your own projects and stash)

    Casey

  2. Zarah said

    So…. how come you don’t like flickr? (Also, in Rav’s defense, I think most of the hype is coming from bloggers, not from the creators themselves.)

  3. Amber said

    I guess everyone will feel differently about flickr. That aspect was one of my favorite parts because I use flickr all the time and find it the easiest out of all the different photo sites. Which one do you use?

  4. robin said

    I also love flickr and use it all the time, so I thought that was a good feature of it. But if you don’t like it, I could see how that would be annoying!

    I like the feature of being able to see other FOs of designs I’ve knitted or am thinking about making.

Leave a Reply

 
