Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

FO: The Shawl Collar Jacket

Posted by Amber on April 2, 2007

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Pattern: Shawl Collar Jacket by Alexandra Virgiel  [I wish I’d known she had the kind of attitude that kept me from buying patterns online before I’d bought and made this one.]

Yarn: Kathmandu Aran Tweed (Discontinued), Color 120. (85% merino, 10% silk, 5% cashmere) I think I used 10 and the tiniest bit of ball #11 out of the 14 balls I picked up at Richmond’s Lettuce Knit. It isn’t particularly “jackety” – much more traditional cardigan. But I used a lighter-than-called-for yarn, and if you used a chunky yarn, it would make a great early fall/spring jacket.

Time to knit: Two weeks! (February 2 – 15). Time spent sitting on the couch: One month. Time at tailor for the zipper: One week.

Mods: I knit the body in one piece (no side seams). After reading this post where Cara said that Nona suggested that sewing the sleeve into a tube before sewing to the body was easier, I tried it that way. Now, I’ve only done set in sleeves with the body in two (three, for cardi) parts before, so I don’t know if the tube-to-tube was easier than flat sleeve-to-tube body, but it wasn’t particularly hard, so I’m going to stay with the tube-to-tube camp. I also picked up stitches for the shawl collar part, rather than knitting the shawl collar separately, and then sewing it on.

Other thoughts: This is the greatest sweater ever. It fits like a dream, it’s warm and squishy, and pretty much perfect in every way.

This is my 3rd finished sweater this year (but only the 2nd one to get a blog entry). I’ve also finished my top-down deep v-neck 3/4 length sleeve blue sweater, but it needs to be washed before it gets a blog post.

6 Responses to “FO: The Shawl Collar Jacket”

  1. knitfriendly said

    Wow, Amber! You are just knocking those out this year! Great job. It fits you perfectly!

  2. bethc said

    Looks great! Well done.

  3. judy said

    That looks really comfortable! Nice job on keeping up with a sweater a month!

  4. Robin said

    I really like that sweater – I will have to add that one to my list! I have two sweaters in a similar style that I bought at Eileen Fisher and was just thinking I wanted another like them.

  5. Anonymous said

    This sweater looks amazing! Wear it in good health.

  6. Linda @ Yarnzilla said

    Hi, Amber! Wow — I’ve never seen that pattern, and I have a mountain of Kathmandu Aran Tweed. The minute I saw how beautifully yours turned out, I was off to Alexandra’s site to procure a copy of her pattern. Thanks for turning me on to it!

Leave a Reply

 
