Yarny Goodness!

Another super exciting fun knitblog

  • November Knit Goals

    I'm prone to being a scatterbrain, so I try to make a short list of things to accomplish each month (lest I have 27 different non matching socks).

    Same as last month: Sleep more. Study more. Knit more. Sleep more.

  • Sweater-a-Month 2008

    Cabled Hoodie: Cascade 220 - Needs seams

    Urban Aran

    Mariah: Ella Rae Classic

    Tricot

    Tubesque: Noro Garden + ???

    CeCe: Silky Wool

    Lucy in the Sky

    Rogue: Handspun - Needs seams

    Elizabeth Zimmermann's Bog Jacket

    Ribbi Cardi: Cotton Ease (Blue/White)

    Ruffled Surplice (spring 07 Interweave): Yard TBD

    Red Carpet Convertible

    Silk Corset Top: Alchemy Synchronicity

    Eyelet Rib Cardi (inspired by Spring 07 Interweave)

    Bella Paquita: Shelridge? Karabella? Sublime?

    A top down set in sleeve sweater (a la Barbara Walker)

    Giselle

    Vintage Pink (Raspberry) Cardigan - FINISHED!!

Knitted Socks East & West: Why isn’t anyone talking about this book?

Posted by Amber on January 6, 2010

Okay, I know, I’ve been a terrible blogger.  What can I say?  I put my nose in a book (where have we heard that before?) and whenever I wasn’t in a book I was nose to nose with da bunnies.  (Two more weeks and I’ll be head down in statistical inference. I’m going to try to be a better blogger this year, but no promises.)

But! This isn’t a bunny blog! It’s a knitting blog! And let me tell you about a book everyone needs to check out straight away!

Knitted Socks East and West by Judy Sumner

(photos shamelessly stolen from MelanieFalickBooks.com; but not hotlinked)

The book begins with a nice intro about socks, Japanese stitch patterns, and all that good jazz at the front of a sock book.  Then: Techniques!  There’s a handful of stitches more common to Japanese patterns, that aren’t used often (ever?) in western books.  The written directions are excellent, as are the diagrams.  You’ll be doing a PKOK (peacocks!), 3-stitch lift, and fancy twists in no time.

Then: Patterns! 30 of them!  And such a great mix: there are slipper socks, knee socks, leggings, dainty relaxing socks.  They’re all cuff down, which doesn’t bother me – it’s what I’ve been doing lately.  But more on that later.  I want to make just about every sock in this book – I’m already on my 3rd pair, and I just got the book for Christmas.

Tsunami, p 77

One thing I really like is that on the cabled [shoe] socks (as opposed to [slipper] socks) – she doesn’t have you carry the cable down the foot, in order to have it be more comfortable in your shoe!  What a great idea!

Kimono, p 109 (in Fiber Optic Foot Notes)

I know some people say that they don’t like sock patterns that are pretty much just a stitch pattern slapped into a basic sock form, that is, if they’re paying for a book they want it to be innovative.  But I think it really works here (you’re more or less repeating a chart X times, and then keeping it on the foot or not) because some of the stitch patterns are so complex – adding funky shaping and what not could make it a little unreachable.  Plus, as my friend Judy says, sometimes those innovative designs are more works of art, and less something you’d want to make and wear.  These are all so wearable.

Not to mention, since the patterns are derived from Japanese stitch dictionaries, you probably haven’t seen them before (unless you’re a connoisseur of the Japanese books, and if you are, can you suggest places I might find of them for myself?).  I’d hate to spend $20 on a book, just to find that it’s basically straight from Barbara Walker or Charlene Schurch.

Bonsai, p 61

The other thing I like about the basic chart repeating X times down the leg is that you can adapt it really easily.  I’m never going to make slipper socks out of Thick & Quick Bulky (Sumo, p 133) – but I love the cable and I’m totally in love with the cable and I can’t wait to do it in a thinner yarn.  Likewise, I’m not really a knee-sock person

Karatsu, p. 81

I can’t wait to make these! Me! Bobbles! That’s how awesome the patterns are – the biggest bobble hater of them all is converted.  But I don’t really want to make a pair of knee socks, so I can take the main 16-stitch repeat and do 4 repeats around (for 64 stitches) and 2 vertical repeats (instead of 4).  See! Easy to adapt!

Ninja, p 31(in Dream in Color Smooshy)

The vertical repeats tend to be longish (most of them are more than 10 rows) but very fairly symmetric, and it’s easy to tell if you’ve gotten off course.  The other great thing about the symmetric repeats is that you could do most of the patterns toe-up if you wanted.

So in short: GO GET THIS BOOK!

One Response to “Knitted Socks East & West: Why isn’t anyone talking about this book?”

  1. Natalie L. said

    I received 3 Japanese stitch dictionaries for Christmas–they were purchased from yesasia.com (which is basically an Asian version of Amazon). They are awesome–all the designs are charted, and most of the symbols are diagrammed and the ones that aren’t, you can generally figure out. The pictures are generally clear, but one of the ones I have has some very unfortunate yarn choices, but only for a scant handful of the patterns.

    I have Knitted Socks East & West and honestly, I wasn’t very impressed with it–I thought a lot of the sizing and gauge choices in the socks were weird and unworkable for me–the stitch patterns used are the more complicated ones, which makes resizing for larger legs nearly impossible.

    I also didn’t like that Sumner didn’t give any guidance on how to find the stitch dictionaries apart from two US-based websites, one of which didn’t have them in stock the last I checked and the other of which has them at a ridiculous markup ($10 more per title plus shipping–yesasia.com does free international shipping). A bibliography of the stitch dictionaries she used as inspiration for the designs would have been more useful, IMO–ISBN numbers are used internationally and are unique.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

